top of page

Infantile


Tom Mckinney

I never needed you

I got older now and realized I never needed you…

Ok, I guess I would be lying if I said age had to do with it

But see, I had been lost for quite a few years

Love was what I wanted to find

So, I guess lost is a lie too…

I knew exactly what I wanted

Everyone around me did not have it

I studied this to a level that I never wanted to willingly know

My capacity was large

But every single last encounter with you all made it got smaller

Ugh, ok, another lie

My capacity to love got bigger, somehow

My tolerance was shaped with empathy

But not one of you wanted it

The lack of using me suffocated me

To be really honest because of that I secretly hated you

Damn, YOU GOT ME AGAIN!

But you have to understand

I had your remedy and you refused me…

I despised your obstacles that didn’t let me in

And was hating the fact that you could sit there and

See me struggle to love you

In the midst of it I moved on, in a way…

Obsessing on why couldn’t you love me?

And I mean me… All of me?

I see now that it wasn’t because of my

Hair, personality, decisions, or existence.

I am not sure if I need to know this answer

But really…

Why couldn’t you love me?

I am at the point where I want to forget you ever existed

But a part of my heart will disappear too

My new bliss has me in the same shoes as you

When did I swap roles

How did you all give me what I fought so hard to be against?

I judge me harsher than I would ever judge you?

Scared of giving myself mercy

In complete fear that I would find this hiding comfy

Wow! There I go again…

I already found it comfortable.

But on this new level

He shows me without grace

Hard on me and in my face

I’m in a new season and a new place

I want to be the person I first was with

But that is clearly not my current case

I need to slow down but it’s a race

And if I am honest

I’m exhausted guys

Please give me time

I have been exhausted since I met you in my past

Fortunately, there is one thing that makes me proud

I know it is different from here on out


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page