top of page

Shadows


The Boss by Frank Morrison

I cry

Success grows

Bills paid

I cry

Hair done

Bed made

I cry

Luxury shoes

Clean clothes

I cry

Empathy for equality

A song in my heart

I cry

Head held high

Fix my crown

I cry

Follow my rules

I worked all day

Why don't they want me God?

I dress like them

I want like them

But overlooked

No greater than dust

Marginalized with no benefit

The shadow is not my color

All I do know is that I chose neither

Desirable is how I see my heart

How can they never see

I cry

And somehow my life won't prove it

Strong but throw me out like the weak

I cry

They shush me

Then accuse me into hating

I crave justification

We knew for some time tears didn't bring anything

Hard work is our cry

That's all we have left

If we sink

They wouldn't look to see

We never needed your approval

Fortunately it's a given in the release.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page